Rock Fragment landscapes

Last month we went to the Rock and Gem show at the American Legion Post 6. You might think it an unlikely place to get inspiration but I maintain that artist’s can get their next idea from virtually anywhere, anytime. Actually the second compressed fabric piece I ever did was inspired by a geological map and a chunk of rock I got at the same show soon after we moved into Cheyenne. It was the start of my interest in the geological wonders and oddities of Wyoming.

PS… This piece will have to wait 3 weeks till I get back from my trip to Japan. We are going to see Ian, Meghan and the new baby…Beatrix Sakura Rowswell!

 

This sliver of rock is only 3″x4′ but I can see a distant horizon and rolling hills in it. It is my source image for the current piece I am working on.

 

Here is the piece in progress. It is contained in a drawer from an old oak desk. You can see how I divide up the space and map out the basic color scheme before I start.

Here is a detail. I have changed the color scheme somewhat by including some hints of blue, representing the limited but essential water supply of the West.

About artfulhandgallery

Georgia and Dave Rowswell run the Artful Hand Studio and Gallery in Cheyenne WY. Dave is a high school art teacher and Georgia is a studio artist and workshop presenter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

