The artistic community

Due to the nature of the work an artist’s life is often a solitary one. Don’t get me wrong, I love it when the house is quiet and I can go into my studio and spend hours working. I think I inherited this trait from my mother. She never minded being alone in her studio with her quilting and classical music. I remember the first time I met someone who seriously didn’t like to be alone. I couldn’t imagine why! But I digress! The point of this post is to talk about community, specifically the artist community. Since moving to Cheyenne and jumping feet first into the art scene, I have met so many good friends through the arts. Last night we went to see Vanda Edington’s Purely Pastel show at Laramie Community College. It was great to see how far Vanda has come in 3 years and to think we helped move her along that path with her very first show and sale at Artful Hand Gallery! This morning fellow artist friend and ceramist, Connie Norman, posted an interview on her blog, Talking To Myself, about my journey as an artist.

If you haven’t found your circle of artist friends in your town yet, I encourage you to do so. Join that guild, start a blog and spread the news, join Studio Wyoming on Facebook, go to an art tour and introduce yourself. Open up and get out there! Its worth it.

About artfulhandgallery

Georgia and Dave Rowswell run the Artful Hand Studio and Gallery in Cheyenne WY. Dave is a high school art teacher and Georgia is a studio artist and workshop presenter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The artistic community

  1. vanda says:

    Loved finding Connie’s blog.. so rich in her comments and is so spont on. You have turned the art scene into a visible entity. And yes you were my first show ever and without your mentoring I would not have had the courage to explore other shows and the create the proposal to LCCC. Thanks!.

Leave a Reply

