Drift

These three pieces are the first in a series I intend to explore further. I began saving the construction and design details from the jeans and denim clothing I was cutting up for the Empty Spaces series. There were some great textures and wear patterns worth saving for a future project! I had intended to do these pieces in a golden palette but as I was working on these during the end of my residency at Brush Creek, it began to snow. I was reminded of how much I liked what the snow did to the landscape. Drifting snow obscures some details and accentuates others. Then there is the way the sun dances on the snow and casts blue tinted shadows. So Drift was born (did I mention I was working in a studio that used to be a calving shed?).

About artfulhandgallery

Georgia and Dave Rowswell run the Artful Hand Studio and Gallery in Cheyenne WY. Dave is a high school art teacher and Georgia is a studio artist and workshop presenter
Gallery | This entry was posted in Artist in Residency, Georgia's Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drift

  1. vanda says:

    First impression… so comforting and intriguing… What are those patterns??? Maybe because I just heard about the impending discovery on Mars.. it did elicit a sense of the galaxy..

  2. Do says:

    Really like these. Love the close up on your blog; couldn’t see the details on facebook.

  3. win says:

    I love your division of space, Georgia, it really works well in all three pieces.

Leave a Reply

