Life Rings

While working on my Hot Yellowstone series, people began to give me pieces of clothing or I would get clothing from an unusual source or situation. All these stories started to run around my head looking for a way to get out so my thoughts began to turn toward art that focused on the narrative as well as the image. The Life Rings Project has become the vehicle for letting the stories out. So….what is it you ask? Simply put it is about “spinning stories and art from cloth”. Here are the pictures to tell the story.

The final part of the project is to “spin” the story behind the art piece.

My Mother’s Hands

My mother was a homemaker but mostly a “maker”. She was always making something! Often she could be found sitting in her rocking chair in front of the kitchen fireplace crocheting a crib blanket for the newest family member. But then there was also the knitting, sewing, bobbin lace, watercolor, embroidery, calligraphy, crewel, and her most enduring love, quilting. My mother taught me much of what I know about working with my hands and how to create objects I could be proud of. She knew the value and satisfaction of “handmade”.

When she was very ill in the hospital, she would hold my hand with her eyes closed and say, “I know whose hands these are, I can tell its Georgia because they are rough”! “That’s right mom”, I said. “It’s all the art work I do that keep my hands busy and rough”! Thank you mom for helping to give me rough hands but a life full of art!

About artfulhandgallery

Georgia and Dave Rowswell run the Artful Hand Studio and Gallery in Cheyenne WY. Dave is a high school art teacher and Georgia is a studio artist and workshop presenter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Rings

  1. Fred says:

    Hi Georgia. This is a beautiful project and I appreciate how you spun your story through both images and words. I look forward to seeing the pieces in person! And I like how you said, “Thank you mom for helping to give me rough hands but a life full of art!” While I only learned to crochet at a rudimentary level, my mom and great grandma were always crocheting and knitting clothes, blankets and other things for actual use but that were also beautiful. My mom still crochets and I admire the work of her hands.

Leave a Reply

