One week down and #6 done!

My Art Lab studio has been up and running for a week! With no distractions and even maid service at the hotel the Art Lab puts me up in, I have been able to get lots done.  After over 70 hours of work , three trips to two of Jackson’s thrift stores, and scavenging one of my own shirts, number 6 is done! In keeping with my working style, I spent the morning  today sorting fabric strips, sweeping the floor and scraping the dried glue off my Gingher scissors ( my mother would be horrified at the condition of my shears after I complete one of my compressed fabric pieces). After lunch I started the sketch for #7. Tomorrow I will paw through my fabrics, make a couple more trips to the thrift store up the road and get my rotary cutter rolling.

If you are in the Jackson WY area on Feb. 18th, I will be giving an artist talk at 6:00PM along with Michelle Ramin, the other visiting artist from San Francisco.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About artfulhandgallery

Georgia and Dave Rowswell run the Artful Hand Studio and Gallery in Cheyenne WY. Dave is a high school art teacher and Georgia is a studio artist and workshop presenter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One week down and #6 done!

  1. Vanda says:

    You inspire me my dear friend Georgia! When I saw Earl’s ties in the slide show I got misty eyed. Reminded me of the Rev. Henry Melvill quote “We cannot live for ourselves alone. Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads, and along these sympathetic fibers, our actions run as causes and return to us as results.” When you return I want to show you a fiber piece from Seattle. I wore it and Beth at the Library thought it was your art. Enjoy every moment of your time away!

  2. abbyinthebox says:

    Mom! I’m really digging this making of feature with the clothes that went into it and the piece slowly getting larger in the background. Next step: a time lapse movie!

  3. I was thinking of time lapse too! I just have to figure out how to do that. I have taken some video but not a lot. Thanks for your thoughts and comments.

  4. Georgia, it is so exciting to see what you’re doing at your residency!

Leave a Reply

